Reven Archer Black: Author of Fantasy & Speculative Fiction

Home » Short Stories » Soundtrack for “What Must Be Done”

Soundtrack for “What Must Be Done”

Follow Reven Archer Black: Author of Fantasy & Speculative Fiction on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 697 other followers

What Must Be Done called for a soundtrack that sounds creepy. Dark, slow, melodic, and just generally skin-crawling. It wasn’t hard to find songs that worked among the several thousands parked on my hard drive.

I’ve decided to include links to Wiki pages of the artists and literary connections where they exist. Just click on the linked name to check them out. 🙂

 

A Perfect Circle Annihilation
A Perfect Circle – Fiddle and the Drum
A Perfect Circle – Imagine
A Perfect Circle – The Noose
As a whole, this band was one of my first go-to bands for this story. I don’t know exactly how “Fiddle and the Drum” ended up in there but I was writing one morning and it suited the mood so what the heck, right? The first song of theirs I heard was “Passive”, part of the soundtrack for the movie, “Constantine”, starring Keanu Reeves. Talk about creepy – that movie had its share of ick moments.

 

Einstürzende Neubauten Ein Seltener Vogel
I came across this in CSI: Crime Scene Investigation (the Las Vegas one; episode 4×18 – “Bad to the Bone”). For those who don’t recognize the language: it’s in German and translates to “A Rare Bird”.  Has some of that Industrial feel I enjoy from other German bands. Not a song that I play often through the speakers at home: it’s been deemed a little TOO creepy.

 

Moulin Rouge Soundtrack – End Credits (Bolero)
This  is another one that I tend to listen to on my own because it’s a bit too creepy … especially when I pretend to be a Marionette.  This song is thanks to composer Craig Armstrong who does really awesome film scores. Love it. Love him. Win for the Scots!

 

Tomandandy & Low Half Light
This I found when watching “The Mothman Prophecies” movie. Creepy movie, creepy song. It was a no-brainer to use this for WMBD.

 

Massive Attack Inertia Creeps
Massive Attack – Teardrop
Anyone who has watched the TV show “House” will recognize “Teardrop” from the opening credits.  It’s one of those songs where all I have to hear is the first note or two and not only do I know what song it is, but I get goosebumps and I can’t help but groove along.

There is also a connection to the literary/fantasy literature world here: Elizabeth Fraser does the vocals for “Teardrop” but she also appears on the soundtrack for Peter Jackson’s adaptation of Tolkien‘s “Lord of the Rings”. You can hear her on  “Lament For Gandalf (Lothlorien)” in “The Fellowship of the Ring”, then in “Lament for Haldir” and “Isengard Unleashed” in “The Two Towers”. Another win for the Scots.

 

Gabriel Mann – My Little Box
So this is the ONLY thing that I liked of what I saw of the movie, “Ghost Ship”. I couldn’t stomach the rest. (Check the irony: I can WRITE horror and gory but can’t watch gory movies!). I just like the song because it’s dark. I’m trying to forget the visuals.

But what I LOVE is that it’s another connection to the literary/fantasy literature worlds. Gabriel Mann played a young Zedd in the TV show “Legend of the Seeker”, the ABC adaptation of Terry Goodkind‘s “The Sword of Truth” epic fantasy series. He also appeared in the Bourne action spy movies, “The Bourne Identity” and “The Bourne Supremacy”, based on the novels by Robert Ludlum.

 

Gregorian Engel
Gregorian – Where the Wild Roses Grow
I love music from across the ages including, yes, Gregorian chanting. This group is fantastic: it covers songs by other artists in pop and rock genres in the sacred Gregorian style. “Engel” is one of my favourites, not only because they do it so well but also because it’s originally done by one of my favourite metal bands, Rammstein (again, German industrial metal and NOT for the faint-of-heart).

“Where the Wild Roses Grow” is equally fantastic, originally done by Nick Cave and pop chanteuse Kylie Minogue!Why do I give that an exclamation mark? Considering the song is a dialogue between a woman and the man/lover who kills her … I never saw Kylie doing something like it since I’m so used to her pop/dance tracks.  Cheers to the Aussies!

 

Tricky Excess
This song has a literary/horror literature connection: it’s on the soundtrack for the movie “Queen of the Damned”, adapted from the novel by Grand Madame of Vampire Literature, Anne Rice. Since then, I’ve learned that part of the song was written and performed by Canadian artist Alanis Morrisette. Well, then.

 

Bedroom Rockers – Nothing Else Matters
I discovered this on my latest viewing marathon of TV show CSI: Miami (episode 4×2 – “Blood in the Water”) and thought, “Yeah, I like it!”. So it ended up as part of the WMBD project … mostly because I was previewing the file and thought it was fun.

 

Kate Bush Under Ice
The last but certainly NOT the least. I love Kate – I grew up listening to her music and adored when dad would play her record, “The Dreaming”. I found this song when I watched a fan video for the sci-fi TV show, “Farscape” (which I equally love because Aeryn Sun and John Crichton are fantastic).  I then discovered that it was released on her “Hounds of Love” album … which my dad had on tape and I never knew. It gives me the creeps with its very specific imagery – drowning, under ice. Freaky. My only gripe is that it’s so short. But, Kate, I still love you.

 


 

Soundtrack to this post:

Jesse Clegg – Winston (Another Time)
Five Finger Death Punch – Far From Home
Ellie Goulding – Beating Heart
Ellie Goulding – Hanging On (I See MONSTAS Remix)

1 Comment

  1. […] out more behind this story! I blogged about it just after I finished the manuscript and I also shared the soundtrack I used to write the story … just in case you’re like me and like a little audio to go […]

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Musings that go great with cookies from the Dark Side?

