Reven Archer Black: Author of Fantasy & Speculative Fiction

Home » Uncategorized » One step at a time

One step at a time

Follow Reven Archer Black: Author of Fantasy & Speculative Fiction on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 697 other followers

“So many people want instantaneous gratification. They give up after one rejection letter. Or worse, they give up on themselves, not just their writing.”

Ain’t that the truth? It’s sad, but a reality. And that’s why my immediate thought was to share this post from Rosa: we need the pep talks, the reminders, the shoulders to cry on, the pats on the back, and a touch of cheerleading. It’s not a long post, but just long enough to remind us all that we don’t build our empires in a day. It takes work. It takes time. And sometimes, it’s that time that’s really important. We learn, we grow, we wise-up. I’ve got my own pile of rejection letters from publishers and agents, but that’s okay. That’s how it works. We stumble, we might fall, but if we get back up and try walking again, we might just get somewhere.

Onwards and upwards!
– RAB

Rosa Sophia

palmfrond_Fotor

I found my first acceptance letters when I was going through my old writing folders.

“Your writing is just what we’re looking for.”

And…

“Your story has been accepted.”

These letters were from the very beginning of my writing career, years ago. Now, I have several books out, and more coming in the future. Even so, I sometimes feel as if I have accomplished very little. Looking back at these old letters reminds me of how long I’ve been working at it, and how much farther I have to go.

We are our own worst critics. But the worst thing you can do is give up. 

So many people want instantaneous gratification. They give up after one rejection letter. Or worse, they give up on themselves, not just their writing.

Think of a ladder. You don’t climb it in one giant step, do you? No. You take it one rung…

View original post 124 more words

1 Comment

  1. rosysophia says:

    Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Thoughts? Comments? Musings that go great with cookies from the Dark Side?

