Reven Archer Black: Author of Fantasy & Speculative Fiction

Home » Reviews » Review: “Rage of Augustus” by Andrew P. Weston

Review: “Rage of Augustus” by Andrew P. Weston

Follow Reven Archer Black: Author of Fantasy & Speculative Fiction on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 697 other followers

The Cambion Journals, Book 1: Rage of Augustus,
by Andrew P. Weston

 

Straight out of the box, this is an interesting, action-packed paranormal offering from Weston. I haven’t read much in the way of Incubae/Succubae fiction, so it caught my attention. In many ways, it reminded me of the television show, “Lost Girl”, and a little bit of the novel, Her Majesty’s Wizard, where I first learned of Succubae.

The book falls into a category I appreciate: dark, but humourous. Active, but also sensual. I liked a little of everything in a book and Weston definitely threw in more than enough to keep things rolling. The most interesting parts were those from Augustus’ POV (1st person), which had the most life and charisma. I found myself wanting to skip over the scenes not from his POV because Augustus’ character had so many things to say, pulling the reader in. He has an established personality and is very “now”, despite his origins. Makes me wonder how he amassed all that wealth…

Other highlights: there was plenty of description and the international aspect was a unique touch, which reminded me of the game, “Where in the World Is Carmen Sandiego?” Weston also gets points for the sensuality, intimacy, and humour. The Augustus-Colleen situation was a great ride, having whetted the mind with mystery. And certainly points to Augustus for his relationship to his mother and what he does with all of it. He shows great strength of character. Around him, there’s seduction, plenty of action and movement, as well as plenty of story and context.

Why this isn’t a 5-star rating: while the story was certainly there and the storytelling had plenty to it, there was still room for growth. I found the non-Augustus scenes (told in 3rd person) slowed the story down, particularly in the first half where it felt like some of the scenes could have been assembled into their own focused chapters so as to let Augustus’ story flow freely. Also, at times I felt like I was reading a travel brochure or non-fiction book/encyclopedia. And while one of the fantastic things about this story is the description, sometimes I was tripped up by the sheer amount of it, requiring me to reread passages quite a few times before really grasping the whole image. However, other readers may find these blessings, giving the story a real, genuine touch to the world as experienced by Augustus.

But all of this is subjective. Overall, the book contains interesting twists and turns, and as a reader, I got pulled into the game (remember: Carmen Sandiego. I wasn’t kidding.) I read this in two sittings, but only due to scheduling. After the first sitting, I found myself trying to sneak in just one more chapter, just one more… then in the second half, I wasn’t too sure where it would end up, though I was pleasantly surprised, unfortunately sorrowed, and curious as to what happens next in Augustus’ story.

 

Rage of Augustus on Goodreads

Rage of Augustus on Amazon (available as eBook and in print… like the copy sitting right beside me, over there <—)

 

Andrew’s blog

Andrew on Twitter

Andrew  on Facebook

Andrew’s Amazon Author Page

Thoughts? Comments? Musings that go great with cookies from the Dark Side?

