Reven Archer Black: Author of Fantasy & Speculative Fiction

Home » Anthologies » Author Spotlight & Guest Post with Nicole L. Daffurn

Author Spotlight & Guest Post with Nicole L. Daffurn

Follow Reven Archer Black: Author of Fantasy & Speculative Fiction on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 697 other followers

This Author Spotlight is part of my Mystical Bites Anthology Blog Series, to promote authors involved in the anthology. Mystical Bites is now available at Amazon!

Now here’s a little about Nicole L. Daffurn.


 

Meet the Author

Sunshine, surf and family are the corner stones of Nicky’s world. Being born and raised on the Sunshine Coast in Queensland, Australia gave her the opportunity to chase her dream of photography and later novel writing. She fell in love with fantasy and dystopian and crafted stories with strong men and powerful women. As well as her many contributions to CHBB anthologies, her debut novel through Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly – Courageous Souls – was released November 6 2014. Her Second Novel – The Darkness Within was published February 5th 2015.  When she is not busy being an author, you will find her walking along the water with her husband or chasing after her two children.

nld

•••
Introduction to Changeling

Changeling2

In the woods of an old ruined city lies a secret that one teenage girl is about to unravel. Covered in strange black markings, Amelia feels like she is being called into the old city of her ancestors. Rumor has it a formidable witch lives within the derelict place, but Amelia won’t let that stop her from finding out the truth and finding out who she is.

Changeling is a ‘coming of age’/ ‘Coming into power’ story, which requires Amelia to channel all her strength and courage.

 

Behind the Scenes of Changeling

Changeling started its life while I was driving through Buderim in Queensland, Australia. Although there are houses tucked in here and there on one side of the drive, they seem like they are miles away. On the other side of the road, the forestry is quite dense and I wondered on this particular day whether any old ruins lay about in amongst those trees. After all, forests hold millions of secrets. My imagination took off on me and I recorded my thoughts on my phone as I drove. The story snowballed, and so, is what it is today.

 

music
The Music Behind the Inspiration

I always have music playing when I am writing, so it should come as no surprise that I had a fairly large playlist for writing Changeling as well. Today I’ve compiled a list of songs/playlists that have inspired me with this story and many more. I would love to list them all for you, but we would be here for days if I were to do that, so I am going to settle for a smaller list instead, and hope that the music that inspires me, can also inspire you.

The Studio Ghibli Collection (ALL of it! I love all the Studio Ghibli soundtracks, and my list isn’t complete without it)

Sia – My Love
Sia – Elastic Heart
Florence and the Machine (Again, ALL of it!)
Evanescence – My Immortal
Evanescence – Good Enough
Kelly Sweet – Dream on
Eddie Vedder – You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away
Taylor Swift and The Civil Wars – Safe and Sound
The Civil Wars – Poison and Wine

 

nldlogo

What’s Next for Nicole L. Daffurn?

At the moment I am working on several books. These include a young adult romance called After The Rain, a World War II romance named Love, Lucas, the second full installment of The Valguard Trilogy and several short stories.

Coming up on October 7th is the release of Cogs in Time III, which features my short story ‘Murder Upon The Last Airship’ and will be published by CHBB Publishing. Watch my website, or subscribe to my mailing list for the release of all these books and more.

 

Where You Can Find Me
Subscribe to my newsletter for updates on future books, and anything else to do with me and my writing here: http://smarturl.it/ndaffurnofficial

Follow me on Twitter: @NickyLouise28

Add me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/nicole.daffurn

‘Like’ me on Facebook: http://smarturl.it/nicoledaffurnfb

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7709131.Nicole_L_Daffurn

Follow me on Amazon: http://smarturl.it/nicoleldaffurnamazon

 

 

 

Thoughts? Comments? Musings that go great with cookies from the Dark Side?

