Reven Archer Black: Author of Fantasy & Speculative Fiction

Home » Anthologies » A Tribute To Best Laid Plans: the Boourns/FML Reality of Being An Author {AKA: Updates}

A Tribute To Best Laid Plans: the Boourns/FML Reality of Being An Author {AKA: Updates}

Follow Reven Archer Black: Author of Fantasy & Speculative Fiction on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 697 other followers

Time: fickle and funny.
Being a writer: fickle and funny.
Combine the two together? A recipe for a workload disaster.

 

Okay, so maybe not a disaster. Just chaotic catastrophe that results in hair loss, endless days of staring at the screen and drooling a little, then waking up with one’s face stuck to the keyboard and “asdf” imprinted on one’s cheek only to stare longingly at the calendar and mourn the passing of nine months…

I discovered yesterday the last actual “update” I made on projects like Blood & Heritage was in March. Because sure, nothing says “you’re sooooo behind” like realizing six months have zipped right on by. Oh, wait, no, I’m wrong. Finding a post from January with my non-New Year’s Resolutions is worse. *face palm* So I’m thinking it’s probably a GREAT time for an update. >> Cue “this time on my blog” theme music… which sounds an awful like Ylvis’s “The Fox” with a chaser of The Guild’s “Do You Wanna Date My Avatar” <<

 

So Wuzzap?!
This spring and summer has been spent mostly on three things: my brother’s wedding, short story anthologies, and writing romances. To sum it up:

(1) The wedding was lovely and reminded me of how awesome my family is. I also slipped on my way back down the aisle with the two groomsmen. Because that’s my style.

(2) The anthologies are available now. ICYMI: my story Sundae (urban fantasy, paranormal) is in the Love Sucks anthology and For What Is Taken (urban fantasy, gay literature, with a touch of science fiction – sort of) is in the Mystical Bites anthology. And just for kicks, here’s the teaser for FWIT because I’m so happy with this story. And I LOVE how this teaser came out. This guy is a little bit yummy… and shh, I didn’t just say that.

 

FWIT-Kellen (80 percent)

 

(2) Romances. So another ICYMI: I write HEA love stories as Archer Kay Leah, which are mostly LGBTQA works right now since that’s the niche of my awesome publisher, Less Than Three Press. In the spring, I was working hard on a dystopian-science fiction fantasy romance (yeah, that’s a mouthful), which was picked up. Then there was a sudden project for a submission call, resulting in a fantasy romance with a little visual cortex science. Now I’m slaving over the sequel to A Question of Counsel.

Add a pinch of feeling like ick for about three weeks every time there’s a change in seasons, two weeks of a pinched back nerve and screwed up muscles, and some general shenanigans and what results is a longer To Do list. What else is new?

 

The Wonderful World of Blood & Heritage
So here’s the low-down and round-up on the series. Quick, quick like a bunny:

Book 1, Ascension, is still with the publisher. By the looks of it, it won’t be released until some time in 2016. I’m hoping to have some news towards the end of the year.

Book 2, Descent, is still in rewrites. Poor baby’s been shafted while I work on other projects. I do have about five chapters done so that’s something. Although there’s thirty-something chapters total, so maybe I’m not throwing confetti quite yet. I will say the outline’s insanely intense. I’m teasing out more of the personal stories of a couple main characters. Also found the climax and ending that’ll really put things into a tizzy. A mirror gets smashed, frustration and guilt run rampant, villains might win a little, and the good guys have to work THAT. MUCH. HARDER. (Does it make me a sadist if I admit that I’m really super excited about all of that?)

Now here’s the new news: I have a few novellas planned for the series. I’ve been playing with the idea of self-publishing some side projects about certain characters from the series because some of them have great stories that I want to tell so badly, but they just don’t fit into the books. I’m currently sitting on Awake & Dreaming, a short story I wrote for my beloved badass assassin, Menníenn, but it takes place between book 1 and 2 so I can’t release it yet. :S

Although in the last two months, I’ve started the outline for a trilogy of novellas around Néthyn, the sweet-but-deadly warrior priest and spy. The ideas have existed for a couple years now, but I didn’t get into the nitty gritty details until recently, thinking that maybe while I’m biding time for Ascension to come out, I could share some things about that world. The incredibly important stuff in Néthyn’s life happen before and during Ascension, and is entwined with other characters who don’t get much on-screen time in the books since it’s focused on Quji. There’s an opening to share some dark secrets that play into the rest of the series, so it’s a fun project. Right now, it’s entitled Stay In Shadow, or at least one of the stories is.

I’m hoping that after the latest romance is done, I’ll be back on top of B&H. I’ve also been smacked upside the head in the last 48 hours with a completely different set of novellas for two characters that won’t even be born until book 5 or 6 or something… They’re a sweet young couple and they’re definitely breaking my heart. I’m totally stoked to want to work on their stories but seriously, MORE WORK?!?! (And now I’m reminded that I’m also a masochist.)

 

Then There Was ALL THE READING
In the spring, I went through a two week period of insomnia followed up by another two week period of insomnia (each with their specific personality). During that time, I didn’t write anything. But, oh, did I read. I binged on Sherrilyn Kenyon’s The League series. Then I got back into writing and expended some brain cells and was a happy kitten.

A few weeks ago, I went into binge mode again and read through the series (I blame Darling and Nykyrian for this because… because… DARLING and NYKYRIAN. *weeps from frustration and love*). I even managed to write a few reviews over at Goodreads.

I’ve also been kidnapped by a few different romance series written by my LT3 colleagues, T.T. Kove and Lexi Ander. My brain’s on fire. So many characters. Because it wasn’t already crowded up there.

 

… and that’s that. WIPs that are simmering on the back burner, biding their time until they can squeak back into the limelight. Here’s to hoping that happens soon. Is it too ridonculous to make Tenth-Month Resolutions?

Thoughts? Comments? Musings that go great with cookies from the Dark Side?

